Linux with old 32-bit hardware

  • 34-Discord-3183
  • 1 Comment

Sometimes it may be necessary to use old computers. Linux operating systems are perfect for this task. There are a lot of articles and recommendations on the Internet for selecting software and specific distributions for this task. But there is a key problem: recently all browsers (and some other programs) have ceased to support old processors (most 32-bit).

Mozilla Firefox (from version 48), Google Chrome (from version 34), Skype (from version 6.2), Adobe Flash (from version 11.2) require a set of SSE2 processor instructions to work. All AMD up to Athlon 64 and all Intel up to Pentium 4 processors do not support the set of these instructions, respectively, the mentioned programs will not start at all or will “fall” with errors. To check whether your computer supports these instructions it is possible by means of a command:

sudo lshw -C cpu | grep -i sse2

If your hardware does not support that instructions, there will be no output after it.

No matter what Linux distribution you have installed (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, Fedora, etc.), how much RAM you have, and how fast it all works – key software such as a browser can make your workstation unusable if your processor (such as Athlon XP or Pentium 3) does not support SSE2. Using old versions of the programs is also not an option – Google Chrome and Skype old versions will not work at all, outdated Firefox – will not be able to open most of today’s sites and will in many cases be unsafe or severely slowed down.

For example, for the minimum functionality you can use primitive browsers such as Links or SlimBoat – but they will not have any video and the implementation of most features of JavaScript.

But, good, the decision nevertheless is available.

– Browser

For today, the only actual browser without the need to have SSE2 support is Palemoon special build. You can download the version from the author of this build by clicking this link, and just in case we copied it to our server. Just unzip the archive and run the palemoon executable file. It will run JavaScript, modern sites and even videos (of course not as fast as on SSE2-enabled processors).

– Flash

It’s better not to use Adobe Flash technology at all, but if you need it, you can try using the old official version or, better yet, special builds like the one described here.

– Skype

Older versions of Skype are no longer supported by Microsoft, they just won’t work. Therefore, the official Skype client cannot be used on an old computer. But you can try to use the web client (use Skype via web-browser) or, if video and audio communication are not required, you can use a special plugin for the Pidgin client.

If you have any problems with running any other software on your old Linux computer – write about it in the comments – we will tell you what to do with it.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Злакси крутой.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Использование linux на старых 32-битных компьютерах

  • 17.04.2017
  • 1 Comment

Иногда может возникнуть необходимость использования старых компьютеров. Операционные системы Linux отлично подходят для этой задачи. В интернете можно найти множество статей и рекомендаций для подбора ПО и конкретных дистрибутивов для этой задачи. Но есть ключевая проблема: с недавних пор все браузеры (и некоторые другие программы) перестали поддерживать старые процессоры (большинство 32-разрядных).

Mozilla Firefox (с версии 48), Google Chrome (с версии 34), Skype (с версии 6.2), Adobe Flash (с версии 11.2) для работы необходим набор инструкций процессора SSE2. Все процссоры AMD до Athlon 64 и все процессоры Intel до Pentium 4 не поддерживают набор этих инструкций, соответственно, упомянутые программы или вообще не запустятся, или будут “падать” с ошибками. Проверить поддерживает ли ваш компьютер эти инструкции можно с помощью команды:

sudo lshw -C cpu | grep -i sse2

Если не поддерживает – то никакого вывода после неё не будет.

Независимо от того, какой Linux дистрибутив у вас установлен (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, Fedora и т.д.), сколько оперативной памяти и как быстро всё в целом работает – ключевое ПО, типа браузера, может сделать ваше рабочее место непригодным для использования, в случае если ваш процессор (например, Athlon XP или Pentium 3) не поддерживает SSE2. Использование старых версий программ тоже не выход – Google Chrome и Skype старых версий не будут вообще работать, устаревший Firefox – не сможет открыть большинство современных сайтов и будет во многих случаях небезопасен или сильно тормозить.

К примеру, для минимального функционала можно использовать примитивные браузеры типа Links или SlimBoat – но в них не будет никакого видео, да и реализации большинства возможностей JavaScript.

Но, благо, решение всё же имеется.

– Браузер

На сегодня, единственный актуальный браузер без необходимости иметь поддержку SSE2 – это Palemoon специальной сборки. По ссылке вы можете скачать версию от автора этой сборки, и на всякий случай мы скопировали её и на свой сервер. Просто разархивируйте архив и запустите исполняемый файл palemoon. В нём будут работать JavaScript, современные сайты и даже видео (конечно не так быстро как на процессорах с поддержкой SSE2).

– Flash

Технологию Adobe Flash вообще лучше не использовать, но если такая необходимость имеется – можно попробовать использовать старую официальную версию или, что лучше, специальные сборки типа того, что описано здесь.

– Skype

Старые версии Skype компанией Microsoft больше не поддерживаются, они просто не будут работать. Поэтому официальный клиент Skype использовать на старом компьютере уже не получится. Но можно попробовать воспользоваться веб-клиентом (использовать Skype через web-браузер) или, если видео и аудио-связь не обязательны – можно использовать специальный плагин для клиента Pidgin.

Если у вас имеются проблемы с запуском какого-то ещё ПО на старом компьютере с Linux – пишите об этом в комментариях – мы подскажем, что с этим можно сделать.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Злакси крутой.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.