Run a program with a CP1251 locale

  • 2nd day of Chaos, in the yold 3176
  • 0 Comments

Locale is a set of parameters, including character set, user language, country, time zone, and other presets that the user expects to see in the user interface. Linux operating systems use Unicode encodings as the default locales, which is certainly very convenient and versatile. But sometimes it is necessary to run a single application with CP1251 encoding (e.g. win32-program via Wine). How to do this is described in this article.

Everything described below is relevant for Ubuntu distributions, and will also work on all other Debian and RedHat-based systems. So, first of all, we need to find out which locales are already installed in your system by typing in the command:

locale -a

It will output all installed locales. If in this list, in addition to various variants of UTF, there is already ru_RU.CP1251, you can skip the stage of locale generation and go directly to the command to start the application. If ru_RU.CP1251 is not detected there, you will have to generate it. In Ubuntu, you need to edit the file /var/lib/locales/supported.d/ru for this purpose:

sudo nano /var/lib/locales/supported.d/ru

In other distributions, the specific locale file can be located in other paths.
Add the last line to this file:

ru_RU.CP1251 CP1251

Save the changes and start generating locales with the command:

sudo locale-gen

Generation complete.

You can now run any application in the CP1251 windows-encoding. To do this, add LC_ALL=ru_RU.CP1251, for example, before starting an application:

LC_ALL=ru_RU.CP1251 nano

This command will launch the nano text editor with windows  CP1251 encodeding.
To run the windows application in this way through the Wine emulator, you will need to execute this type of command:

env LC_ALL=ru_RU.CP1251 wine "C:\Program Files\1Cv77\BIN\1cv7.exe"

If this way of running the program solves the encoding problems, you can safely create a quick start button, where it will be easy enough to put this command.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Запуск приложений с локалью CP1251

  • 02.01.2010
  • 0 Comments

Локаль — это набор параметров, включая набор символов, язык пользователя, страну, часовой пояс, а также другие предустановки, которые пользователь ожидает видеть в пользовательском интерфейсе. В операционных системах Linux в качестве локалей по-умолчанию используются кодировки Unicode, что, несомненно, очень удобно и универсально. Но иногда возникают ситуации, что отдельно взятое приложение необходимо запустить с кодировкой CP1251 (например win32-программу через Wine). О том как это сделать будет рассказано в этой статье.

Все нижеописанное актуально для дистрибутивов Ubuntu, а также будет работать во всех остальных основанных на Debian и RedHat системах. Итак, для начала нам стоит выяснить какие локали уже установлены у вас в системе, для этого введите команду:

locale -a

Она даст вывод всех установленных локалей. Если в этом списке помимо различных вариантов UTF уже присутствует ru_RU.CP1251, то этап генерации локали вы можете пропустить и перейти сразу к команде запуска приложения. Если же ru_RU.CP1251 вы там не обнаружили, то придется ее сгенерировать. В Ubuntu для этого надо отредактировать файл /var/lib/locales/supported.d/ru:

sudo nano /var/lib/locales/supported.d/ru

В других дистрибутивах файл русской локали может находиться по другим путям.
В этот файл последней строкой добавьте:

ru_RU.CP1251 CP1251

Сохраните изменения и приступайте к генерации локалей командой:

sudo locale-gen

Generation complete.
Теперь любое приложение вы можете запустить в windows-кодировке CP1251. Для этого перед командой запуска приложения достаточно добавить LC_ALL=ru_RU.CP1251, например:

LC_ALL=ru_RU.CP1251 nano

Что запустит текстовый редактор nano в windows-кодировке.
Чтобы запустить таким образом windows-приложение через эмулятор Wine, нужно будет выполнить команду такого типа:

env LC_ALL=ru_RU.CP1251 wine "C:\Program Files\1Cv77\BIN\1cv7.exe"

Если подобный способ запуска программы решает проблемы кодировки, то можете смело создавать кнопку быстрого запуска, куда будет достаточно просто поместить вашу команду.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.